2017 Queen's birthday honours

Northern Constabulary Force Helicopter 1998 - by Dave Conner via Flickr
This article was originally published on this website

National Police Chiefs’ Council Chair Sara Thornton said:

“I am proud that once again members of our police service have been named in the Queen’s birthday honours, and I offer my warmest congratulations to them.

“They join a distinguished list of officers and staff who have been honoured for their outstanding contribution to policing, and their dedication to keeping the public safe.

“In recent weeks we have seen an outpouring of public support for the job our frontline officers and staff carry out in incredibly difficult circumstances.

“So I am delighted that same support is being echoed in this list, with the inclusion of several frontline officers, staff and volunteers.”

The full list of members of the police service included in this year’s honours is:

OBE (Officers of the Order of the British Empire) 

Alex Murray, Chief Superintendent, West Midlands Police

Claire Davies, Assistant Chief Officer, Metropolitan Police Service and NPCC lead for Workforce of the Future Portfolio

Martyn Lloyd-Evans, Police staff, South Wales Police

Louise Hubble, Inspector, Hampshire Constabulary

MBE (Members of the Order of the British Empire) 

Barry Stickings, Chair of the Micro and Anopthalmic Children’s Society and Former Metropolitan Police Officer

Christopher Barmby, Police Volunteer, Kent Police

Asif Sadiq, Sergeant, City of London Police

Valerie McLea, CCTV Volunteer, Wiltshire (For services to policing and local communities)

Gerald Peck, Civilian Volunteer, Staffordshire (For services to policing and local communities)


BEM (British Empire Medal)

Helen Stoodley, Sergeant, Metropolitan Police Service

Idris Bada, Detention Officer, Metropolitan Police Service

Brian Murphy, Special Constable, Cumbria Constabulary

Gary Stack, Constable, West Midlands Police


QPM (Queen’s Police Medal)

Michelle Sarah Dunn, Deputy Chief Constable, Hertfordshire Constabulary

Alison Newcomb, Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Metropolitan Police Service

Hilary Jane Sawyers, Chief Constable, Staffordshire Police

Karen Judith Manners, Deputy Chief Constable, Warwickshire Police and NPCC Lead for Child Neglect and Coronial Matters

Alun Maxwell Thomas, Chief Superintendent, British Transport Police

Sue Williams, Detective Chief Superintendent, Metropolitan Police Service

John O’Hare, Chief Superintendent, Greater Manchester Police

Paul Nicolls, Constable, Essex Police

Roger Brown, Constable, Derbyshire Constabulary

Nicholas Atter, Sergeant, Greater Manchester Police

Debra Cooper, Constable, Metropolitan Police Service

Karen Warner, Detective Inspector, North Yorkshire Police

Amerjit Singh, Detective Sergeant, Cambridgeshire Constabulary

Ian Fred Birkin, Temporary Sergeant, Nottinghamshire Police

Kathryn Somerville, Temporary Detective Sergeant, Warwickshire Police

Tracy O’Hara, Detective Constable, Merseyside Police

David Whalley, Neighbourhood Sergeant, Merseyside Police

Nigel Paul Hatten, Detective Sergeant, Gloucestershire Constabulary

Queen’s Gallantry Awards

George Medal (awarded posthumously)

Keith Palmer, Constable, Metropolitan Police Service

Queen’s Gallantry Medal

Craig Nicholls, Constable, West Yorkshire Police

Jonathan Wright, Constable, West Yorkshire Police

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply