Guidance: Lord Ferrers Awards 2018

Home Office Building - London - by .Martin. via Flickr

Guidance: Lord Ferrers Awards 2018

This year we will be celebrating the 25th year of the awards, marking a quarter of a century of exceptional volunteer dedication.

The awards, previously known as the Special Constable and Police Support Volunteer Awards, highlight the vital role volunteers play in support of policing, by giving up their free time to make communities safer, and enhancing the effectiveness of policing across England and Wales. In 2013, they were renamed in memory of Lord Ferrers, the former Home Office minister who created the awards in 1993.

This year, we are including a new award recognising the contribution of office of police and crime commissioner volunteers. Therefore, this year, the awards will recognise achievement across 10 individual and team categories:

  • Ferrers Special Constabulary – Individual Award
  • Ferrers Special Constabulary – Team Award
  • Police Support Volunteer – Individual Award
  • Police Support Volunteer – Team Award
  • Volunteer Police Cadet – Individual Award
  • Volunteer Police Cadet – Team Award
  • Employer Supported Policing Award
  • Leadership Award (for Special Constables)
  • Technical Innovation Award – Team or Individual
  • Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner (OPCC) Volunteer – Team or Individual

This year’s awards ceremony will take place at a central London location on a date in autumn to be confirmed.

The 2018 awards launched on 7 June 2018.

The deadline for nominations is midnight on 22 July 2018.

To nominate a volunteer please read the nomination guidance and complete the nomination form.

If you have any queries or are unable to submit an online application, please email